New Year’s Honours congratulations – Professors Dilip Nathwani and Sharon Peacock

Professor Dilip Nathwani, Director of Medical Education Scotland and President-elect of BSAC has received an OBE in the New Year’s Honours List for services to treatment of infectious diseases and Professor Sharon Peacock, Clinical Microbiologist, Cambridge has received a CBE for services to microbiology.

President of BSAC, Dr Nicholas Brown said “On behalf of Council and Members of BSAC I extend congratulations to Professors Nathwani and Peacock on their awards.  It is encouraging to see services to infectious diseases and microbiology acknowledged in this way for Society Members who have worked tirelessly during their careers to improve outcomes for patients through research, clinical practice and the education of healthcare professionals.”

He continued “Professor Nathwani’s many and continuing contributions have included spearheading the establishment of Outpatient Parenteral Antimicrobial Therapy Services in the United Kingdom and most recently pioneering the establishment of a global education course on antimicrobial stewardship, and Professor Peacock continues invaluable work in developing sequencing technologies in diagnostic microbiology and public health. We look forward to extending our congratulations in person in the very near future.”